Learning to Accept Yourself


Being yourself isn’t easy. You have pressure from society that you internalize as pressure from yourself. Society has these expectations of what we should be or what we should look like. We are told we need to be doctors, astronauts, or lawyers and bring home the bacon. As kids a lot of these expectations are instilled in us, and for quite some time you live your life comparing yourself to these expectations. 

I can’t pinpoint when but I’ve got to the point where I’ve let go of these expectations implanted in me, and have just started doing what I’ve wanted. I don’t need to be rich or have a “powerful” career to be happy. The decisions I make in my life should be based on what makes me happy, not what I think I should be doing. Living your life not wanting to let anyone down, might sound like a good thing, but it’s not. You might make decisions that your parents or friends might not approve of, but ultimately this is your life. If you are doing what makes you happy, then you should do it. Hopefully the decisions you are making bring positivity to you and not negativity. 

I don’t I’ve never thought I was ugly but when I would look in the mirror I wasn’t necessarily jumping up and down about my looks. But recently I looked at myself and smiled, I am not too shabby. This is what I look like, and I should love it. Love your body. If you are not happy with your body, it shouldn’t be because you are comparing yourself to anyone else but because you want to improve yourself. You have the right to improve yourself, but only do it for yourself. 

I am who I am, and I am who looks back in the mirror. Not being happy with yourself will only lead to a bitter life. Why can’t I look like so-and-so? Why can’t I be a millionaire? I hope you have already taken control of your life, or will soon get to the point where you realize that the decisions you make should be made for you. Life is too short to not live it for yourself. 

2 thoughts on “Learning to Accept Yourself

  1. i think this is very well said, and each of us has struggled at times with parts of ourselves that we ‘didn’t think was good enough’ or measured up with others. i’m happy you’ve arrived at the point of self acceptance and liking yourself for just who you are, it has taken me time to do the same and i’m learning all the time – ) beth

Leave a Reply

