Life Lessons


Earlier today I was thinking this year I would be celebrating my twenty-fifth birthday, and how far I’ve come. It really seems that every year I grow and become more comfortable in my own skin. I’ve even learned to appreciate those moments in life when it seemed life was overwhelming and I was drowning. I actually welcome birthdays because I know more life experiences are to come, and hopefully even further growth and understanding.

When you are younger there seems to be this naiveness on the future. We have these big dreams and never foresee any trouble. We are told if we work hard and never give up, we can get anything we want. At some point you come to realize that sometimes the dreams you had in mind for yourself aren’t going to come true. We may not have the dedication, skills, or motivation to reach those dreams. The things is there’s nothing wrong with not bringing dreams into reality. Over time you change and things that once were important to you may not be as vital as they once were. Not reaching dreams or goals doesn’t reflect that you are a failure, only thing it reflects is that it wasn’t meant for you. 

As you grow you also learn that the only opinion that matters is your own. I can’t speak for everyone but growing up I put pressure on myself to do well because others expected it of me. I didn’t want to let others down, so I even pushed myself to do things that I had no interest in but I knew others expected of me. I’ve learned that at the end of the day the only person in your body is you. It doesn’t matter what all these people tell you throughout the day, at night you have to live with your actions and decisions. Living your life for others will only leave you empty and lost. I don’t care of others think I didn’t reach my full potential or that I maybe settled, if I am happy with my actions and decisions then that’s all that matters. We only have once chance at life, so you should be the one dictating it.

One of the biggest things I’ve learned is that it’s okay to fail. It’s not the end of the world if something doesn’t turn out the way you planned it. Yes, it’s going to hurt when you fail but you will see that everything is still going to be okay. You can’t control everything in life, so things are bound to play out differently than expected. The important thing is that you learn to get back up and try again, or maybe take a different path. Failure has such a negative connotation but it’s actually a good sign. As long as you keep failing it means you are still putting yourself out there and trying. People who never fail are living their lives in a safe place and not taking chances. If you live your life with this fear of failure you are keeping yourself from experiencing life. 

Life is an ever changing thing. You learn with time to go along with the punches, because at the end of the day you are strong enough to take them. Life will knock you down sometimes; the bruises will fade but the knowledge learned won’t. Take in and appreciate every experience even if it’s a negative one, because we tend to learn the most from those dark times.

I hope everyone of you reading this knows that you are strong enough to overcome anything that is placed in front of you. The universe places things in our path to challenge us, not to defeat us (even though is seems that way at times). Never give up in life, keep pushing through the hard times so when you finally reach the good times, you can truly appreciate them. 

Leave a Reply

