A Daily Rant


Being a gay man, I’ve always tried to walk this line of not allowing the fact that I am gay define me as a person. I am more than just a gay man, that’s just a tiny aspect of who I am. Yet in the wolrd we live in now, that aspect is a big label I must choose to wear or hide. This moment in history calls for those who want change to speak loudly, and wear that label as visible as possible. There is nothing wrong with being gay but just not broadcasting it, that’s a personal choice. But in order to make change happen, we must change us. We must wear this label until the world realizes that this label is nothing more than just a tiny part of that person, not something that should define them.

I live in a world where I live in fear of holding another man’s hand or kissing a man I love in public. No one should live in a world where being themselves puts their life at risk. I know who I am, and so should the world. I am someone who wants to love and be loved. Why should I be afraid of love? Why should I be afraid to show my love to the world?

I want to live in a world where the word gay/lesbian/transgender are obsolete. I don’t want to be defined by a word. I want to be define by the kind of person I am. How I treat others. How I allow others to treat me. I just want to be Adrian.

Why can’t the world just be happy with that? 

 

6 thoughts on “A Daily Rant

  1. I don’t think we can totally wipe out ignorance, but we can live our lives and be happy, IN SPITE OF IT!!! I always look to the struggle for gay rights as inspiration for continuing the struggle to fight stigma for those of us with mental illness. Peace of Mind & Love to You! Nana xxoo

  2. One thing that I hope I would see in my lifetime, is that there would no longer be a need to “come out”. It would be so normalised that it is as if you prefer dogs or cats. That way, no one would ever have to go through the difficulties that many of us bare.

Leave a Reply

